Conference Madrid Abierto 2011-2012

El Taller, Matadero Madrid. January 12th to the 19th of February. Tuesday to Friday: from 4 pm to 10 pm. Saturdays, Sundays and holidays: from 11am to 10 pm.

After establishing Madrid Abierto’s archive in Matadero Madrid, available for consultation after previous request (91 517 12 33, archive@mataderomadrid.com), an exhibit has been organized (founded on the archive) which intends to provide a comprehensive view of Madrid Abierto’s editions since 2004. We will also present The death of Videoman by Fernando Llanos and Weird tourism by Iñaki Larrimbe and his Unofficial Tourism group, projects which were developed in Madrid Abierto’s 2008 and 2010 editions. Artist Susanne Bosch and the Democracy group will discuss useful art. We will also present the Madrid Abierto 2009-2010 publication as well as the recorded conversation of artists Isidoro Valcárcel Medina and Santiago Sierra with Madrid Abierto’s director, Jorge Díez. To close the event, Raquel Pelta will speak with Aitor Menéndez about the relationship between graphic design and modern art. The latter will conduct a tour showing the image of Madrid Abierto in its different stages.


February 9th, 7 pm. Fernando Llanos, The death of a Videoman.

February 9th, 8 pm. Play the conversation of Isidoro Valcárcel and Santiago Sierra with Jorge Díez, director of Madrid Abierto.

February 10th, 7 pm. Iñaki Larrimbe and the Unofficial Tourism group, Weird Tourism.

February 10th, 8 pm. Democracia + Susanne Bosch. Useful art?

February 11th, 7 pm. Aitor Menéndez + Raquel Pelta, Around the chart for Madrid Abierto.

We will also present the Madrid Abierto 2009-2012 publication.

Organizer: Asociación Cultural Madrid Abierto.
Collaborators: Matadero Madrid, Ayuntamiento de Madrid, Comunidad de Madrid, Ministerio de Cultura, Fundación Telefónica, Casa de América and Dimad.

Director: Jorge Díez.
Coordination: RMS La Asociación.
Event organization: María Díaz and Sara Herrero.
Curator: Manuela Sevilla.
Collaborators: Eloy Villaseñor, César Fernández Nieto, Pilar Acón and Nacho Cañete.
Graphic designer: Aitor Méndez.